Three UB Men's Basketball Players Earn 2016-17 All-East Coast Conference Honors

Three UB Men's Basketball Players Earn 2016-17 All-East Coast Conference Honors

Central Islip, N.Y.-Three members of the 2016-17 University of Bridgeport men's basketball team have been named to this season's All-East Coast Conference Team announced on Friday evening.

Senior Kyle Benjamin (Bronx, N.Y.) earned First Team All-Conference honors, plus Benjamin as selected as the Co-ECC Defensive Player of the Year for 2016-17 along with Molloy's Curtis Jenkins.

A pair of Purple Knights, senior Stefano Osuji (Voorhees, N.J.) and junior Sam Joseph (Brooklyn, N.Y.) were named to the Third Team All-ECC squad.

Benjamin leads UB in both scoring and rebounding averaging 14.7 points and 10.3 rebounds per game.  So far this season, Kyle has a total of 17 double-double in 28 games played.  He leads the team and the conference in blocked shots with 79 in those 28 games played.

Joseph, who has started all 29 games for Bridgeport so far this season, is second on the team in scoring average at 14.0 points per game, and Osuji is third in scoring for the Purple Knights averaging 12.3 points per game.

The University of Bridgeport men's basketball team will next be in action on Saturday night at home when the UB faces Molloy College in the semifinal of the 2017 East Coast Conference Championship Tournament in Hubbell Gym.  Game time is set for 7:30 p.m.


2016-17 All-East Coast Conference Men's Basketball Teams

First Team

Kyle Benjamin, Bridgeport
Charlie Marquardt, Molloy
Jaylen Morris, Molloy
Joseph Nickerson, Dist. Columbia
Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas
Tyree White, Queens

Second Team

Kasim Chandler, Dist. Columbia
Greg Dotson, LIU Post
Jon Feiler, NYIT
Arif Mehmetaj, Daemen
Chaz Watler, St. Thomas Aquinas

Third Team

Jared Hall, LIU Post
Supreme Hannah, Daemen
Sam Joseph, Bridgeport
Diego Maldonado, Queens
Stefano Osuji, Bridgeport

Player of the Year: Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas
Rookie of the Year: Nick Corbett, Molloy
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Kyle Benjamin, Bridgeport
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Curtis Jenkins, Molloy
Coach of the Year: Charlie Marquardt, Molloy