Six Members Of The UB Baseball Team Selected To The 2017 All-ECC Teams

Six Members Of The UB Baseball Team Selected To The 2017 All-ECC Teams

Central Islip, N.Y.-Six members of the University of Bridgeport baseball team have earned 2017 All-East Coast Conference in a vote of league coaches that was released on Wednesday afternoon.  Three Purple Knights were selected as First Team All-ECC performers and three more earned Second Team All-Conference accolades.

Junior, second baseman Stephen DiNicola (Rochester, N.Y.), senior, third baseman Casey McCone (Milford, Conn.) and graduate student, designated hitter Zach Burger (Orlando, Fla,) were named First Team All-ECC, and senior, first baseman Dave Egeland (Toms River, N.J.), junior, outfielder Cam Overbaugh (Catskill, N.Y.) and senior, pitcher Denis Lyman (Kingston, N.Y.) were selected as Second Team All-Conference performers.

The University of Bridgeport baseball team will open play in the 2017 East Coast Conference Baseball Championship Tournament on Thursday afternoon at 12 noon versus LIU Post.  This season's ECC Baseball Championship Tournament will be hosted by Molloy College at Mitchel Athletic Complex in Uniondale, N.Y.


2017 ECC Baseball All-Conference
First Team
C - Thomas Asbaty, LIU Post
1B - Angelo Navetta, Molloy
2B - Stephen DiNicola, Bridgeport
2B - Michael Rahn, Molloy
3B - Casey McCone, Bridgeport
SS - Joseph Pena, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Rob Andreoli, LIU Post
OF - Kenny Daley, LIU Post
OF - Giovanni Dingcong, St. Thomas Aquinas
DH - Zach Burger, Bridgeport
UTL - Anthony Shkrelja, St. Thomas Aquinas
SP - Joseph Broderick, Queens
SP - Chris Cepeda, St. Thomas Aquinas
SP - Jake DeCarli, LIU Post
SP - Frankie Moscatiello, St. Thomas Aquinas
RP - Dan Jagiello, LIU Post

Second Team
C - Cris Ruiz, St. Thomas Aquinas
C - Joseph Sadallah, Mercy
1B - Dave Egeland, Bridgeport
1B- Mark Shkrelja, St. Thomas Aquinas
2B - Nicholas Lucchese, St. Thomas Aquinas
3B - Jimmy Mendyk, LIU Post
SS - Brian Murphy, Molloy
OF - Juan Adorno, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Michael Morgan, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Cam Overbaugh, Bridgeport
DH - Anthony Vaglica, LIU Post
UTL - Anthony Murphy, Mercy
SP - Bobby Kelly, Molloy
SP - Noah Lorenzo, LIU Post
SP - Denis Lyman, Bridgeport
SP - Anthony Morris, St. Thomas Aquinas
SP - Matt Nalbone, Mercy
RP - George Navadel, St. Thomas Aquinas
RP - Chad Sinko, St. Thomas Aquinas  

Player of the Year: Rob Andreoli, Jr. OF, LIU Post
Pitcher of the Year: Frankie Moscatiello, Jr., SP, St. Thomas Aquinas
Co-Rookie of the Year: Anthony Murphy, So., UTL, Mercy
Co-Rookie of the Year: Noah Lorenzo, Fr., SP, LIU Post
Coach of the Year: Scott Muscat, St. Thomas Aquinas